Making a Difference

At church Sunday morning, I started thinking about my life and if I am using it to make a difference in the world. There was a time a few years ago when I was working with a church youth group that I really felt that the answer to this questions was clearly yes. I hope that I was right and that what I was doing then really did have a positive influence on someone’s life.  I have since moved to a new church where I am not involved in any sort of ministry at all. I still go to church every Sunday, but I am not involved in the life of the church. People only know who I am because they know who my kids are. I go to worship and I go home. That’s it. My life outside of church is not exactly full of difference making behavior, either. I go to work, I go home, I watch TV, I go to bed and then do it all over the next day. I hope in there, my relationship with my kids is making a difference in their lives, but I feel like something is missing.  I need something like I had with my old youth group. I need to feel like my presence on earth matters to more than just the people in my house.  I’m not sure where I need to be to do this, but it is obviously not at home on my couch in front of the TV.  Is it the new church’s youth group? Another ministry there?  A new job? I don’t know, but I will be praying for the answer.

2 thoughts on “Making a Difference

  1. I find volunteering an amazing gift. For 10+ yrs we have fostered rescue dogs. By housebreaking (some are already house broken), leash trained ect.. plus getting to know their personality we have helped them be placed with some very awesome families I talk with daily. Please think about fostering.

Leave a Reply

